Recognising its historic foundation, the school will preserve and develop its religious character in accordance with the principles of the Church of England and in partnership with the churches at parish and diocesan level.

This is a church school that aims to serve its community by providing an education of the highest quality within the context of Christian belief and practice. It encourages an understanding of the meaning and significance of faith, and promotes Christian values through the experience it offers to all its pupils.

St Lawrence C of E VA Primary School serves a priority area of the parishes of Napton (inclusive of Tomlow and Chapel Green), Upper Shuckburgh and Lower Shuckburgh.

Every year the governing body will review and publish information concerning the school’s admission policy.  This will confirm the maximum number of children to be admitted to the school as a whole – the Published Admissions Number (PAN) which is currently 26 – and explain how places will be allocated.

Click here to view the full policy

Appeals information

Appeals against a decision made by St Lawrence School Governors regarding Admissions should be made to the Diocesan Board of Education (DBE)

Click here to view the appeal form template which should be completed and returned to the DBE as detailed.

Proposed In-Year Appeal Hearing Dates for the remainder of 2019

  • Monday 16 September
  • Thursday 17 October
  • Monday 11 November
  • Wednesday 12 December

Proposed In-Year Appeal Hearing Dates for 2020

  • Monday 20 January
  • Wednesday 13 February
  • Monday 16 March
  • Thursday 27 April
  • Friday 22 May
  • Friday 19 June
  • Monday 13 July
  • Monday 22 September
  • Thursday 16 October
  • Monday 16 November
  • Thursday 7 December

Main Round Appeals – Primary

(National Offer Day – on or around 16 April 2020

  • Deadline for appeals to be lodged – 22 May

Appeals to be heard week commencing 15 June

Late appeals will be heard within the statutory timescales published in the School Admission Appeals Code.